Previous Foreword


Lisa Robins
Australian National University

Steven Crimp
Australian National University

Monica van Wensveen

Robyn G. Alders
Australian National University

R. Michael Bourke
Australian National University

James Butler

Michaela Cosijn

Federico Davila
University of Technology Sydney

Aparna Lal
Australian National University

John F. McCarthy
Australian National University

Andrew McWilliam
Western Sydney University

Anton Simon M. Palo
Foodlink Advocacy Co-operative, Philippines

Nicholas Thomson
Australian National University

Peter Warr
Australian National University

Michael Webb

Project leaders

Dr Lisa Robins
Fenner School of Environment and Society, Australian National University

Dr Steven Crimp
Climate Change Institute, Fenner School of Environment and Society, Australian National University

Monica van Wensveen
CSIRO Agriculture and Food


This ACIAR Small Research Activity was an intensive collaborative research effort over a period of four months between the Australian National University (ANU) and CSIRO, in conjunction with the University of Technology Sydney, Western Sydney University and the Philippines-based Foodlink Advocacy Co-operative.

We extend our gratitude to the extensive array of esteemed contributors and key informants identified by author/s in their respective chapters for the geography assessments for Indonesia, Pacific island countries, Papua New Guinea, the Philippines and Timor-Leste.

In addition, we wish to acknowledge and extend our appreciation to the following significant contributors (shown in alphabetical order).

Project Reference Committee

Elizabeth Blower (Secretariat, ANU); Prof. Mark Howden (Director, ANU Climate Change Institute); Prof. Meg Keen (Director, Australia Pacific Security College, ANU); Dr Lilly Lim-Camacho (Deputy Research Director, Sustainability Program, CSIRO Agriculture and Food); Fiona Lynn (Director, Agricultural Development and Food Security Section, DFAT); Dr Roslyn Prinsley (Head, Strategic Research Initiatives, ANU); Dr Daniel Walker (Chief Scientist, ACIAR).

Expert analysts (reviewers)

A/Prof. Katherine Daniell (Fenner School of Environment and Society, ANU); Dr Ryan Edwards (Deputy Director, ANU Development Policy Centre); A/Prof. Miranda Forsyth (School of Regulation and Global Governance (RegNet), ANU); Dr Todd Sanderson (ACIAR); Dr Liana Williams (CSIRO Land and Water).

ACIAR Country Managers

Mai Alagcan (the Philippines); Dr Peter Horne (General Manager, Country Programs, as proxy for Timor-Leste); Doreen Iga (Papua New Guinea); Mirah Nuryati (Indonesia); Florence Rahiria (Regional Manager, Pacific and Papua New Guinea).

Other ACIAR staff

George Chapman (ACIAR Graduate Agribusiness Research Officer).

Data compilation

Alex van der Meer Simo (Fenner School of Environment and Society, ANU).


ACIAR is established by the Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research Act 1982 (the ACIAR Act), as amended. ACIAR is part of the Foreign Affairs and Trade portfolio. The CEO of ACIAR reports directly to the Minister for Foreign Affairs.

Also established under the ACIAR Act are two advisory groups. The Commission for International Agricultural Research provides decision-making and expert strategic advice to the Minister for Foreign Affairs on the operations of ACIAR. The Policy Advisory Council reports to the Minister for Foreign Affairs, the Commission for International Agricultural Research and ACIAR on issues, programs and policies affecting agriculture in developing countries.

Next Acronyms and abbreviations